[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_gallery type=”flexslider_slide” interval=”15″ images=”4316,4315,4314,4313,4312,4311,4310,4362,4361,4360″ img_size=”745×500″][vc_column_text]FLINT, MI — Flint Mayor Karen Weaver keeps her seat in a landslide victory against a recall election to remove her from office Weaver faced off with 17 other candidates but managed to pull more than 7,709 votes to remain Flint’s leader.

Candidate and Flint City Council member Scott Kincaid came in second with an estimated 4,671 votes while the other 16 shared about 1,900 votes.

Weaver, Flint’s first woman mayor, was fighting a recall effort launched by resident, Arthur Woodson, who also ran for mayor during the recall election and gained 352 votes on Nov. 7. Woodson turned in thousands of signatures on July 31, 2017 to add the recall issue to the ballot. Under state law, a mayoral election was held for voters to either choose a new mayor or keep Weaver in office.

Weaver gained more than 50 percent of the votes. The recall election was on the ballot with Flint’s City Council election where all nine seats were up for reelection.

Incumbents Eric Mays, Kate Fields, Herbert Winfrey and Monica Galloway kept their seats in the first, fourth, sixth and seventh wards. Newcomers Maurice Davis, Jerri Winfrey-Carter, Santino Guerra, Allan Griggs and Eva Worthing will replace incumbents Jackie Poplar,  Kerry Nelson, Wantwaz Davis, Vickie VanBuren and Kincaid in wards two, three, five, six and nine. VanBuren lost the Flint City Council primary race in May and was not on the ballot for Nov. 7 elections.

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][swlabscore_block_carousel_sc_4 category_list=”%5B%7B%22category_slug%22%3A%22mayor-weaver-series%22%7D%5D” tag_list=”%5B%7B%7D%5D” author_list=”%5B%7B%7D%5D”][swlabscore_block_sc_9 block_title=”Latest Election Post” limit_post=”7″ category_list=”%5B%7B%7D%5D” tag_list=”%5B%7B%22tag_slug%22%3A%22flint-recall%22%7D%2C%7B%22tag_slug%22%3A%22recall%22%7D%5D” author_list=”%5B%7B%7D%5D”][/vc_column][/vc_row]

[vc_row][vc_column width=”3/4″][vc_column_text][/vc_column_text][swlabscore_block_sc_7 block_title=”Flint City Council Winners” category_list=”%5B%7B%22category_slug%22%3A%22new-flint-city-council-2017%22%7D%5D” tag_list=”%5B%7B%7D%5D” author_list=”%5B%7B%7D%5D”][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/4″][vc_column_text]Flint City Council Race Results

First Ward

Anita L. Brown            580

Eric Mays                  1404

Second Ward

Maurice D. Davis         970

Jackie Poplar              678

Third Ward

Santino J. Guerra.       725

Kerry L. Nelson           431

Fourth Ward

Michael Doan              330

Kate Fields                  660

Fifth Ward

Wantwaz Davis             578

Jerri Winfrey-Carter      675

Sixth Ward

Chia Morgan                  694

Herbert J. Winfrey          879

Seventh Ward

Monica S. Galloway      1344

Heather Morolla Kale    1135

Eighth Ward

L. Allan Griggs                881

Joyce Ellis-McNeal         785

Ninth Ward

Eva Worthing                   804

[/vc_column_text][swlabscore_advertisement_sc advertisement=”content02″][swlabscore_advertisement_sc advertisement=”content02″][/vc_column][/vc_row]